Top Three

Thursday’s Top Three (TTT #029)

As part of this series, I’m sharing the Top Three articles I’ve read over the prior week with you all every Thursday.

The articles that are featured can either be fresh or selected from other blogs’ archives. The only rule to be included in the collection is that it’s an article that I’ve read in that particular week.

Generally, I try to select pieces that made me think about something from a new perspective or that emotionally spoke to me. I hope you’ll enjoy them as much as I did!

Here are this week’s TTT:

Imogen Tew in The Times on the downside of crypto gains
Does the current crypto bull run cause unrealistic expectations among investors? Imogen thinks so, and that’s a problem in her opinion. She made a small bet on Bitcoin recently and is currently up 35%. On the one hand that is nice, on the other hand, it is causing her to pause and think. What expectations do such large gains in a short period raise in the heads of investors? And what will happen if these are not met? Very fair questions. As always with crypto, proceed with lots of caution and never risk money that you cannot afford to lose.

Donna Freedman from Surviving and Thriving on life-skills taught by Dad
This article is a great homage to the author’s father, a resourceful man who worked hard, constantly up-skilled and found creative side-hustles before it was cool. I always enjoy these personal stories as well as the reflections from other bloggers on how their upbringing and their parents shaped them in one way or another. This one is a very good read!

Harry Sit from The Finance Buff on making fewer things matter
Who knew that cutting a pineapple could lead to deep life insights? For Harry, it led to the realization that life becomes easier when you make fewer things matter. That way, you can focus on the truly important things. In the article, the authors shows some examples of putting this motto to life, as well as how it can help you control FOMO as well as sales pitches. Sounds like a good strategy, and by the way, I cut my pineapples sub-optimally too!


Do YOU want to be featured? Have you written an article that I absolutely must read?
Let me know about it, and I’ll consider including it in the next TTT.

1 thought on “Thursday’s Top Three (TTT #029)”

Leave a Comment